top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrooke Roy

Working in the Waiting

For a full year, I felt as if I were in this long season of waiting. Anticipation was stirring from within that something was about to happen that would radically shift the course of my life. I was having vivid dreams, which led to allowing my mind to run and imagine what I may end up doing and where I may end up going. So I prayed. Nothing fancy, or religious, just something along the lines of, "God, I feel like you are wanting to invite me to be a part of more. I feel that things go over my head easily, so could you be direct? I don't want to miss out on the adventures you have for me." In doing this, the thoughts in my head that made it feel like I needed to rush the process went away. I chose to trust that Grace was holding me and that whatever this next thing was, it would call me. In the meantime, all I had to do was lean into God and serve exactly where I was and perhaps, maybe, God was working in the waiting.

The invitation came and guess what? He made it blatantly clear. I believe that some situations will occur in life and there will simply be no way to logically explain it, other than to conclude that it was a 'God thing.' Back in July 2019, I was out on the ocean paddleboarding when I met a couple who left an imprint on my life. The more you talk to strangers, the more you realize that there is a whole world of friends that you just don't know yet. Anyways, I learnt how they once lived in Australia and with my oldest brother living there, my attention was captured. They told me how they once taught in a remote community 20 years ago and suddenly, this feeling rose, and a thought crossed my mind, "Could it be that this place, out of the entire continent, is the town that my brother will be moving to for missions?" I blurted out, "Broome?!" Looking at their astonished faces revealed that I had just pulled a rabbit out of a hat. After they shared some stories about their time there, they told me, with a sense of authority, that I needed to go there. Realizing that this blunt statement was what I had prayed for, I was overcome with emotions, yet I had so much clarity. I explained how Broome was on a list of places I felt I may be called to and I was simply waiting on God to bring direction and confirmation. We all had goosebumps, and not just because of the ocean breeze. The invitation came, and I answered.



A taste of home - Vancouver Island, Canada

Fast forward 7 months to March 2020, I uprooted my life in Canada and eagerly made the move to Perth, Western Australia. I came enrolled as a student for the Children at Risk School. Unfortunately, due to the current global pandemic, the program was cancelled. This school is associated with Youth With a Mission (YWAM), which is a non-profit organization. There are more than 1,100 bases set up around the globe, with over 15,000 full-time volunteers. After the school was cancelled, I hopped on board as a staff member in the YWAM Perth kitchen. To be transparent, I can't say that this was how I anticipated my 'plan' unfolding.


These unprecedented times have exposed how desperately I desire to control. However, I have been receiving more of a head-to-the-heart understanding that I can trust in God's leadership. In choosing to surrender the natural urge to control the little that I can, I have felt Grace swoop me up. In the unknowns, there is an opportunity to be refined, to grow, and to see the beauty in the midst of it all. In every moment, He has made the promise to be fully present. Choosing to trust that His plan is far better than mine could ever be, and allowing Him to lead, has been liberating.


The first month living in Australia

On the horizon, I will be moving up to the Kimberley. As it turns out, other individuals also received the same invitation. Together, we will be pioneering a YWAM base in Broome, which is in the northernmost region of Western Australia. We will be able to build upon the preexisting relationships with locals and serve alongside them wherever there are needs. This will include assisting in the classrooms of local schools and creating a youth program to support the young people in various communities. To summarize, the priority is to love others well, however that may look, in the Aboriginal culture. Beautiful things can happen when we all respond with a 'yes' to our invitations. I now know for certain, our waiting is preparation, and He is working through it all.


 

Rosewater Pistachio - Mary Street Bakery {Highgate, Perth}

Arriving first thing in the morning meant that it was served fresh and warm. The taste of the rosewater came through subtly in the glaze, however, I think a little more would have been divine. The pistachios not only added a crunch, but a balance to the sweetness from the yeast dough and glaze. This beauty did not disappoint.


 


Welcome to this new beginning!


Lots of love, Brooke




138 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page